My Little Genius

Benjamin Bloom

Bloom’s Taxonomy relates to My Little GeniusTM in several ways. Within a class, we have children at different ability levels as defined by Bloom’s research. It helps us understand what level of learning and thinking process a child may be demonstrating. My Little GeniusTM curriculum is designed to dynamically move up and down the pyramid. This is accomplished by numerous different activities, all designed to stimulate a child’s mind at different stages of the pyramid.

In 1956, Benjamin Bloom headed a group of educational psychologists who identified intellectual behaviour that is critical to the learning process. In their research, Bloom and his colleagues identified three domains of learning – the affective, the psychomotor and the cognitive. The affective domain describes what we often call insight or intuition. The psychomotor domain involves skills that are often described as manual abilities. The cognitive domain addresses how we obtain, evaluate and synthesise information, i.e. our thinking processes.

Bloom and his colleagues identified six levels of learning within the cognitive domain. Along with the levels of learning, the researchers identified questions or cues that should be asked of children within each level. Called Bloom’s Taxonomy, the learning levels are often represented in a pyramid. The base of the pyramid represents the simple recall of knowledge, moving through increasingly more complex and abstract thinking to the most advanced, which is called evaluation. Each level of the pyramid builds on the one below.

The following describes each level; starting with the most basic thought process and ending with the highest level of thinking.

Knowledge – Knowledge is a starting point which includes both the acquisition of information and the ability to recall information when needed.

Comprehension– Comprehension is the basic level of understanding. It involves the ability to know what is being communicated in order to make use of the information.

Application– Application is the ability to use a learned skill in a new situation, including identifying information, ideas and skills to solve problems, then selecting and applying them appropriately.

Analysis– Analysis is the ability to break content into components in order to identify parts, see relationships among them and recognise operational principles. In the same fashion, one can analyse information and ideas into their components.

Synthesis – Synthesis is the ability to combine existing elements in order to create something original. This is the level where innovation truly occurs.

Evaluation – Evaluation involves reviewing and asserting evidence, facts and ideas and then making appropriate statements and judgements. At this level, a person demonstrates the ability to judge the worth of material against stated criteria.

My Little GeniusTM lessons are designed to move up and down the levels of the pyramid, involving all children in the class. It also allows children to accomplish their tasks at their current level and encourages them to move towards more complex thought processes.

The use of Bloom’s Taxonomy allows each lesson to meet the needs of children and encourages them to expand and grow.


9:00 am - 10:10 am
2:00 pm - 3:10 pm
10:30 am - 11:40 am
3:30 pm - 4:40 pm
6:30 pm - 7:40 pm
12:00 pm - 1:10 pm
5:00 pm - 6:10 pm

Classes are available from Thursdays to Sundays.